Our Action

Victory Net  initiatives raise awareness of NETs and boost fundraising.

Participation to the WeCan Academy in Frankfurt on July 6th to 8th 2019

July 2019

Cancer patient advocates from 26 European countries, active across a wide spectrum of cancer types, spent three days in July at the first training course, developed and run by advocates.

WECAN Academy 2019

The intensive training ‘Academy’ was organized by WECAN, an informal network of leaders of cancer patient umbrella organizations, of which INCA is a member. Ambitious and forward-thinking as it was, the academy can be considered a milestone for European advocacy in many ways.
The course sessions covered essential practical skill sets: how to establish, manage, fund and run a non-profit organization, how to gather patient- generated evidence, how to get their voices heard. A primer in healthcare systems, policy and access to new treatments across Europe was also offered. The advocates were introduced to the world of medical research, drug development, clinical trials, evaluating evidence, and patient involvement in research.

The course gathered people with varying experiences and needs: leaders of national and/or umbrella organizations who were looking to train up their teams; patients who are interested in setting up an advocacy organization.

INCA had 5 participants in the educational initiative: Mette Jackson (CarciNor Norway), Mark McDonnell (NET Patient Network Ireland), Fabienne Pfyffer and James Nagelmackers (Victory NET, Switzerland) and Teodora Kolarova (INCA Executive Director).

Half the presenters were patient advocates themselves. The topics and presentations were extremely relevant, and delivered with notable passion and motivation. The content and the structure of the WECAN Academy built on work done by many different groups of patient advocates over previous years.


 

Victory Net Challenge 2019 – The Lyke Wake Walk, North Yorkshire

Lyke Wake Walk

July 2019

Some of VictoryNET supporters set of on the Lyke Wake Walk challenge accomplishing 64km hike through the North Yorkshire Moors in 18 hours.
It required a hard and painful effort all done with bravery and high spirits.
Date: Saturday 06th July (full dates 05-07th July)

http://www.lykewakewalk.co.uk


 

7th INCA Global Patient Advocate Summit 2019 – Plovdiv, Bulgaria

INCA Summit 2019

June 2019

21 organizations supporting NET patients from 5 continents met on 18-19 June in Plovdiv, Bulgaria to take part in the 7th INCA Global NET Patient Advocate Summit. The INCA Summit is an annual event that brings together the world’s leading patient advocates and medical experts in NETs to focus on latest developments in the NETs field, best practices, and major challenges to be addressed. Structured to reflect INCA’s three strategic pillars: raise awareness on NETs, secure access to optimal treatment and care, and advance NET research; the Summit agenda offered valuable insight into all these areas in the context of collaboration.

In 2019, INCA Summit speakers came from a variety of fields of expertise to suggest ways of bridging the gaps in information and communication, quality care provision and research in NETs. The psychotherapist and counsellor Kym Winter, working closely with AMEND and NET Patient Foundation UK, gave a profound overview of the specific unmet need for psychological support for NET patients due to factors like high level of unpredictability of the disease, logistical burden and the understanding of being rare. Tips and lessons learned on delivering the right information for patients at the right time were provided by Jo Grey from AMEND, UK. Cathy Bouvier from NET Patient Foundation, UK shared their expertise in educating healthcare professionals about NETs.

Prof. Vikas Prasad from the Ulm University Hospital, Germany, talked about what is new in PRRT and the need to take into consideration patients‘ quality of life and toxicity levels in treatment decision-making to truly deliver personalized medicine. Dr. Sugandha Dureja, nuclear medicine expert in theranostics and Chair of CNETS India, presented on how access to PRRT can be improved and introduced the concept of the 3 As (awareness, availability and ability/expertise).

Simone Leyden, INCA President and CEO of Unicorn Foundation, Australia outlined the mechanism of Health Technology Assessment and the challenges of reimbursement decision-making.

Breakthrough research in NETs, based on the impact of genetic studies, was very well outlined by Prof. James Howe, Chair of NANETS presented on. This picture was complemented by Prof. Marianne Pavel, ENETS President-Elect, who profiled the potentially practice-changing clinical trials in NETs. Tamas Berezcky from the European Patients’ Academy on Therapeutic Innovation (EUPATI) expanded on patient involvement in research and offered tips and resources for growing research advocacy expertise. The significance of partnering with patients to improve NET care was further highlighted by Dr. Simron Singh, Co-Chair of CommNETs, who elaborated on a few projects of Cancer Care Ontario, set to provide person-centered care.

In the capacity-building session, Yoshiyuki Majima, PanCAN Japan spoke about the key to success when working with regulatory bodies. An insight into fundraising strategies based on the experience of NET Research Foundation was shared by Josh Mailman.


 

ENETS – Barcelona in March 2019

ENETS Barcelona 2019

March 2019

A VictoryNet delegation took part again in the ENETS (European Neuroendocrine Tumour Society), Symposium, which brings together over 1,600 delegates from around the world. Here, we updated and shared research, testing and training knowledge and presented and promoted our foundation. We invited our Media voices (Alexander Masters and Liz Scarff) to present to INCA their project of a questionnaire to help patients define if they can participate to the AdVince trial. We also invited two nurses from Bern who attended our Seminar in 2016 and are NET specialists.


 

Escalade Walking – 30 November 2018

November 2018

Length of the Walk : 8.720 km (5.418 miles)
The VictoryNet team (made up of Vince’s family and friends) took part in this well-known event in Geneva.


 

ENETS – Barcelona – March 2018

March 2018

A Victory Net delegation took part in the ENETS (European Neuroendocrine Tumour Society), Symposium, which brings together over 1,500 delegates from around the world. Here, we updated and shared research, testing and training knowledge and presented and promoted the VNet foundation.


 

3 Peaks Challenge – UK, July 2017

July 2017

The VictoryNet team (made up of Vince’s family and close friends) took part in this famously tough charity challenge.
It entails climbing the highest mountains of England, Scotland and Wales within 24 hours to raise public awareness and collect donations for the foundation.

A substantial amount was raised on this occasion.

Actions

Les initiatives de Victory Net pour sensibiliser l’opinion sur les TNE et appuyer la recherche de fonds

Participation à WeCan Academy – Francfort du 6 au 8 juillet 2019

Juillet 2019

Les défenseurs des patients atteints de cancer de 26 pays européens, actifs dans un large éventail de types de cancer, ont passé trois jours en juillet dans le cadre du premier cours de formation, mis au point et animé par des défenseurs de patients.

WECAN Academy 2019

La formation intensive a été organisée par WECAN, un réseau informel de responsables d’organisations faîtières de patients atteints de cancer, dont l’INCA est membre. Ambitieuse et avant-gardiste, l’académie peut être considérée comme une étape importante pour le plaidoyer au niveau européen de la défense des patients à bien des égards.

Les sessions de cours ont porté sur les compétences pratiques essentielles : comment créer, diriger, financer et gérer un organisme à but non lucratif, comment recueillir des données probantes générées par les patients, comment faire entendre leur voix. Une introduction aux systèmes de santé, aux politiques et à l’accès aux nouveaux traitements en Europe a également été proposée. Les défenseurs ont été initiés au monde de la recherche médicale, du développement de médicaments, des essais cliniques, de l’évaluation des données et de la participation des patients à la recherche.

Le cours a rassemblé des personnes ayant des expériences et des besoins variés, entre autres : des dirigeants d’organisations nationales et/ou faîtières qui souhaitaient former leurs équipes, des patients souhaitant créer une organisation, etc.

INCA était représentée pour cette initiative éducative par 5 participants : Mette Jackson (Norvège), Mark McDonnell (Réseau des patients NET Irlande), Fabienne Pfyffer et James Nagelmackers (Victory NET, Suisse) et Teodora Kolarova (directrice générale de l’INCA).

La moitié des conférenciers étaient eux-mêmes des défenseurs des droits des patients. Les sujets et les présentations étaient extrêmement pertinents et abordés avec une passion et une motivation remarquables. Le contenu et la structure de la WECAN Academy s’appuient sur les travaux de nombreux groupes de défenseurs des droits des patients au cours des années précédentes

 


 

7e INCA Sommet Mondial des Défenseurs des Droits des Patients 2019 – Plovdiv, Bulgarie

INCA Summit 2019

Juin 2019

21 organisations des 5 continents supportant des patients atteints de TNE se sont rencontrés les 18 et 19 juin à Plovdiv, Bulgarie, pour participer au 7e sommet d’INCA pour les Défenseurs des Droits des Patients. Ce sommet d’INCA est un évènement annuel qui rassemble les principaux défenseurs des patients et experts médicaux des TNE pour se concentrer sur les derniers développements dans le domaine des TNE, les meilleures pratiques et les principaux défis à relever. Structurée de manière à refléter les trois piliers stratégiques d’INCA : sensibiliser aux TNE, assurer un accès sécurisé à des traitements et des soins optimaux et faire progresser la recherche sur les TNE; l’ordre du jour du sommet a fourni des informations précieuses sur tous ces domaines dans le contexte de la collaboration.

En 2019, les intervenants du sommet INCA sont venus de divers domaines d’expertise pour suggérer des moyens de combler les lacunes en matière d’information et de communication, de prestation de soins de qualité et de recherche sur les TNE. Le psychothérapeute et conseiller Kym Winter, en étroite collaboration avec AMEND et NET Patient Foundation UK, a présenté un aperçu complet du besoin spécifique de soutien psychologique non satisfait des patients TNE, en raison de facteurs tels que le niveau élevé d’imprévisibilité de la maladie, le fardeau logistique et la compréhension du traitement d’une maladie rare. Les astuces et leçons apprises pour fournir la bonne information aux patients au bon moment ont été données par Jo Gray de AMEND, Royaume-Uni. Cathy Bouvier de NET Patient Foundation, UK a partagé son expertise en matière d’éducation des professionnels de la santé sur les TNE.

Le professeur Vikas Prasad de l’hôpital universitaire d’Ulm, en Allemagne, a présenté les nouveautés de l’évaluation PRRT ainsi que la nécessité de prendre en compte la qualité de vie des patients et les niveaux de toxicité des traitements dans la prise de décision thérapeutique en vue de délivrer une médecine personnalisée. Dr. Sugandha Dureja, experte en théranostique en médecine nucléaire et présidente du CNETS India, a présenté les moyens d’améliorer l’accès au PRRT et a introduit le concept du 3 As (sensibilisation, disponibilité et capacité / expertise).

Simone Leyden, présidente et directrice générale d’INCA de la Unicorn Foundation, Australie, a présenté le mécanisme d’évaluation des technologies de la santé et les défis posés par la prise de décision en matière de remboursement.

Le professeur James Howe, président de NANETS, a très bien décrit la recherche de pointe sur les TNE, basée sur l’impact des études génétiques. La professeure Marianne Pavel, présidente élue d’ENETS, a présenté le portrait des essais cliniques susceptibles de modifier la pratique dans les TNE. Tamas Berezcky de l’Académie européenne des patients pour l’innovation thérapeutique (EUPATI) a parlé de la participation des patients à la recherche et a proposé des conseils et des ressources pour accroître l’expertise en matière de défense des intérêts de la recherche. Le Dr Simron Singh, coprésident de CommNETs, a également souligné l’importance du partenariat avec les patients pour améliorer les soins TNE. Il a ensuite présenté quelques projets d’Action Cancer Ontario visant à fournir des soins centrés sur la personne.

Lors de la session de renforcement des capacités, Yoshiyuki Majima, PanCAN Japan a parlé de la clé du succès dans le travail avec les organismes de réglementation. Josh Mailman a partagé un aperçu des stratégies de collecte de fonds basées sur l’expérience de NET Research Foundation.


 

ENETS – Barcelone, Mars 2019

ENETS Barcelona 2019

Mars 2019

Cette année encore, participation d’une délégation Victory Net au symposium ENETS (European Neuroendocrine Tumour Society), regroupant plus de 1,600 participants du monde entier, pour actualiser nos connaissances en matière de recherches, d’essais, de formations et pour faire connaître notre fondation. Nous avons invité nos Voix Médias (Alexander Masters et Liz Scarff) à présenter à INCA leur projet de questionnaire pour aider les patients à définir s’ils pourraient participer au essais cliniques d’AdVince. Nous avions également invité deux infirmières de Berne qui avaient participé à notre Séminaire en 2016 et qui sont spécialisées pour les TNE.


 

Marche de l’Escalade – 30 Novembre 2018

Novembre 2018

Longueur de la marche : 8.720 km
L’équipe de Victory NET (composée de membres de la famille et d’amis de Vince) a participé à cet évènement très connu à Genève.


 

ENETS – Barcelone – Mars 2018

Mars 2018

Participation d’une délégation Victory Net au symposium ENETS (European Neuroendocrine Tumour Society), regroupant plus de 1500 participants du monde entier, pour actualiser nos connaissances en matière de recherches, d’essais, de formations et pour faire connaître notre fondation.


 

Réunion Extraordinaire À Uppsala – Janvier 2018

Janvier 2018

À l’initiative de Victory Net et d’ Alexander Masters, les principaux acteurs de la lutte contre les TNE autour du programme AdVince se sont réunis pour faire le point sur les avancées des recherches et essais cliniques, notamment pour informer la communauté des donateurs.


 

3 Peaks Challenge – Juillet 2017

Juillet 2017

Engagement d’une équipe Victory Net (composée de la famille et d’amis proches de Vince) à ce challenge consistant à gravir en 24 heures les principaux sommets d’Angleterre, d’Écosse et du Pays de Galles, dans le but d’informer le public et collecter des dons pour la fondation.

Une somme conséquente a été réunie à cette occasion.